HOLLAND CHARTER TOWNSHIP BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Regular Meeting November 21, 2024

The Supervisor called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Present: Supervisor Russ TeSlaa, Clerk Michael Dalman, Treasurer Vince Bush, and

Trustees Elliott Church, Dave DeYoung, Gretchen Molotky, and Terry Nienhuis.

Also present was Township Manager Steve Bulthuis.

Absent: None

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and Mr. TeSlaa gave the invocation.

Citizen's Comments: None

24-90 Mr. Bush made a resolution, supported by Mr. Dalman, to amend the agenda and

add consideration of a Resolution Recognizing A Board Member.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

Mr. TeSlaa reviewed the consent agenda.

A motion was made by Mr. Bush, supported by Mr. DeYoung, to approve the consent agenda including communications (None), operational reports (Sheriff's Report for October), and the minutes of the Board Meeting held on November 7,

2024.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

The next item on the agenda was the consideration of a resolution to accept the terms of an agreement from the Michigan Department of Resources. Mr. Bulthuis reviewed the agreement.

A resolution was made by Mr. Nienhuis, supported by Mr. Bush, to accept the terms of an agreement with the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

The next item was consideration of Holland Township Board meeting dates for 2025. Township Board meetings would be held the first and third Thursdays of the month except for only one meeting on the 3rd Thursday of April and July.

Moved by Mr. Bush, supported by Mr. DeYoung, to approve the meeting dates for the Holland Charter Township Board for 2025.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

The next item was consideration of appointments to various Township boards and committees. First was the Zoning Board of Appeals. Mr. TeSlaa recommended that Ross DeVries and Elliott Church be reappointed to 3-year terms ending December 31, 2027.

Moved by Mr. Bush, supported by Ms. Molotky, to reappoint Ross DeVries and Elliott Church to the Zoning Board of Appeals.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

Next was the Planning Commission. Mr. TeSlaa recommended that Gretchen Molotky be appointed to replace Russ TeSlaa as the Board representative with the term ending December 31, 2026.

24-95 Moved by Mr. Nienhuis, supported by Mr. Church, to appoint Gretchen Molotky to the Planning Commission.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

Next were reappointments to the SmartZone Advisory Board. Mr. TeSlaa recommended Vince Bush be reappointed for a four-year term expiring January 1, 2028 and Pete Beukema be reappointed for a term expiring December 31, 2028.

Moved by Mr. Dalman, supported by Mr. Nienhuis, to reappoint Vince Bush and Pete Beukema to the SmartZone Advisory Board.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

The next item was recognition of Mr. Nienhuis who is retiring after 31 years of being the Supervisor. Mr. Dalman presented a plaque recognizing his service and read a resolution of appreciation for Mr. Nienhuis and his service to the Township and also named the main drive through Quincy Park as Nienhuis Lane to recognize Mr. Nienhuis' love for the Township's park system.

A resolution was offered by Mr. Dalman, supported by Mr. Bush, that the main drive through Quincy Park be named Nienhuis Lane.

All supported the resolution Resolution declared adopted

Mr. Bulthuis shared his administrative report. Board members shared thoughts and committee reports.

The Board then had a time of celebration and thanked Terry Nienhuis for his service to the Township as Supervisor. Meeting adjourned at approximately 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,	
Michael Dalman, Clerk	Russ TeSlaa, Supervisor

Holland Charter Township 2 November 21, 2024